2018 IIY

Making a Difference

Award recipients are recognized under the following categories:

Significant Investment in Their Own Learning - Demonstrating perseverance, love of learning or pursuit of knowledge by study or experience.

Significant Investment in the Betterment of Education - Showing commitment to education by giving of their time, talents or resources.

Significant Investment in Helping the Community - Exhibiting involvement and dedication toward the community and its members.

Significant Investment in Modeling for Youth - Demonstrating through words and actions an example for young people.

Significant Investment in Overcoming Adversity - Displaying the will and courage to overcome major challenges.

Significant Investment in Developing their Own Talents - Exhibiting unique expressions of creativity or talent


This event is not possible without the generous support of our community. Sponsorship opportunities are available, contact Susan Wineland at 763-391-7116.

District 279 Foundation's 

Investment In Youth Celebration

Sunday, May 6, 2018

Park Center Senior High

(Enter off of Noble Avenue to North Parking lot)

​4:15 pm Check In

5:00 pm Dinner

​6:00 pm Program & Awards

An Investment in Youth

An Investment in Youth is an event to recognize and celebrate the many achievements and success stories of the students, volunteers, and staff of Independent School District #279. See the list of the 2018 award recipients. ​

Thank you to Dave Kiser from CCX Media for filming District 279 Foundation’s An Investment In Youth program. This program will be replayed on CCX Media Channel 20 or Channel 859 through Comcast Cable.

Channel 859:
Saturday, May 12, 2018, 6:30 PM         
Sunday, May 13, 2018, 10:30 AM      
Sunday, May 20, 2018, 7:00 PM         
Monday, May 21, 2018, 11:00 AM      

Channel 20:
Monday, May 14, 2018, 4:00 PM     ​​

​​​​Sponsored by:

Award Ceremony

ATS&R Planners/Architects/Engineers

First Student

Russ and Kathy Funk

Award Category

Roger and Ibby Gilmore


Anton Enterprises LLC

Karen and Henry Jaeger

TruStone Financial Credit Union

Additional support provided by: 

Deb Anderson, Joseph and Laura Anton,

David Bauer, Hugh and Kelly Bonner,

David A. Branch, Nancy and Mark Carpenter,

Mary Ellen and Michael DeBois, Priscilla Deke,

Bill Dix, Education Minnesota – Osseo,

John Erickson, Linda and Paul Ewald, Marlys Garmer, Robert and Sally Hein, Kim Hiel, Virginia Hoppenrath, James Miller Agency, Inc., Marcia and Chet Janasz, Purushotham Rao Keshavaram, Audre Kiecker, Shelly J. Korby, Earl and Gladys Larsen,

Maple Grove Pearle Vision, Ann Mock,

Mary Oluwalowo, Vickie Parks, Linda Pascoe,

Bruce Peterson, Carl Pheil, Abhijit Potdar,

Betty Rossman, Phillip Sadler,  

Paul and Penny Schierenbeck, Kathleen Seavert, William and Mary Sedey, Scott W. Taylor,

Don and Biddy Waletzko,

Susan and Andrew Wineland and Anonymous (4)